Check Our Photo Gallery
Forward to a Friend Print Max Min
Elections of the Lebanese Red Cross Governing Committees
In accordance to the laws and regulations, the election of the governing bodies of the Lebanese Red Cross was held, at the central and local levels, at the end of the term that began in 2013. The elections took place at various dates to elect the members of the General Assembly, central committee, and administrative authorities in the local committees.

Election of President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Executive Committee Members
The recently elected central committee held a meeting at the LRC headquarters in Spears, Beirut to elect a president, vice president, and treasurer from among its members. Dr. Antoine Zoghbi was elected president in an uncontested vote to succeed Ms. Suzanne Oueiss. Dr. Maryam Ghandour was re-elected vice president and Mr. Bassam al-Mokdad was elected treasurer succeeding Mr. Kossay Charafeddine.

The following is a brief resume of the elected members:
Dr. Antoine Zoghbi: Volunteered in the LRC in 1999 as a medical authority for the EMS. He became a member of the central and executive committees (head of the Volunteers Department) and acts as Dean of the LRC Nursing Institute in Baabda and head of emergency services at Hotel-Dieu de France Hospital in Beirut. He is also a lecturer at the Faculty of Medicine at Saint Joseph University in Beirut

Dr. Maryam Ghandour: Volunteered at the LRC in 1980 and has been a member of the Beirut local committee since 2000. She holds a PhD in Education from Columbia University, New York and is the Director of the Career Guidance Center at the American University of Beirut.

Mr. Bassam al-Mokdad: Volunteered in the LRC EMS in 1985 and moved up the ranks to become head of the Beirut province. He is a member of the central committee and took part in several EMS and disaster management training programs in Lebanon and abroad. He participated in several humanitarian operations during crises and wars in Lebanon and abroad and is a member of the disaster management regional team. He is also the national coordinator of the dissemination program and a member at the Central Bank governance office.

Following the formation of the central committee and the elections and after the president had assumed his new duties, doors were then opened for candidates to announce their nomination for positions in the executive committee. The following won uncontested in the elections: Ms. Rosy Boulos, head of EMS; Ms. Amina Fawaz, head of Medical-Social services; Mr. Bassel Makkawi, head of the Blood Bank; Mr. Youssef Sfeir, head of the Youth Department; Mr. Kamal Fares, head of Public Relations and Communication; Mr. Sami Hussieni, head of logistics;  Mr. Raja Assaf, head of Fundraising and Marketing; Mr. Georges Mousallem, head of the Education Department; Mr. Ghassan Hanna, head of the Volunteers Department; Mr. Samer Abu Nader, head of Planning; and Mr. Toni Zoghby, head of Internal Affairs.
Latest News
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada visited the Lebanese Red Cross
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada, Mr. François-Philippe Champagne, visited Yesterday August 27th, the Lebanese Red Cross (LRC) headquarters in Beirut- Spears Street accompanied by the presumptive Ambassador Ms. Chantal Chastenay ...
High Commissioner for Refugees visits the Lebanese Red Cross
On Wednesday afternoon, August 19, Mr. Filippo Grandi, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), accompanied by the representative of UNHCR in Lebanon, Mrs. Mireille Girard with a delegation, visited the Lebanese Red Cross...
© 2008 Lebanese Red Cross. All rights reserved. Website Designed & Developed by Born Interactive.
join our network